They Tell Each Other How To Register Stolen Trailers....but nobody cares to address.  Not even the NTSB we told them.  Congressman Cantor Has Been Told...by us and he has done nothing.
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    North Arkansas
    Posts
    1,858

    Licensing a utility trailer

    Anyone know how long you have to license a utility trailer? I'm wondering if it is like a auto where you have so many days to license or does it have to be licensed when you first use it? I have a Bill of Sale.

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Trapper is offline Super Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Arkansas
    Posts
    1,860
    I bought mine back in October (used) and didn't license it until early spring and they didn't say anything at the revenue office. Now I didn't use it during that time. I don't know what a cop would have to say about it if you got pulled over.

  3. #3
    popgun is offline Super Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Beebe
    Posts
    1,078
    When you go in, just don't say anything about a bill of sale. Just tell them it is a homemade trailer and that you built it yourself. Approximate the value at about $500. And get a permanent plate. That way you won't have to go back every year to renew. Be sure to add it to your tax assessment.
    ....popgun
  4. #4
    Mack9302 is offline Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Fort smith
    Posts
    505
    while both of these are great options the legal way is to go to revenue office with title in hand... register and get life time plates for 25 bucks

    as long as bill of sale is less that 2,499.99 there will be no sales tax....

    you have 30 days to tag...if you go over that you can sign an affidavit stated you did not use and pay no extra fees.

    state tropper gave me a ticket for not having my trailer tagged inside the thirty days...i went to court over it and argued it and they told me it did not matter...state tropper could still write the ticket so after me repeating law 4 times to them it was dismissed....
  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    North Arkansas
    Posts
    1,858
    OK, thanks.

    Actually my Grandma gave me this little trailer. It was my Grandpa's when he was alive and hasn't been used in several years. So no bill of sale, in fact I'm probably gonna use it to move some stuff in the next couple weeks and then take it back to my Grandma's house. Guess the legal way is to pay a lifetime plate fee and use it and then park it forever in a field again.

    Thanks Again.
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    North Arkansas
    Posts
    1,858

    Licensing a utility trailer

    Anyone know how long you have to license a utility trailer? I'm wondering if it is like a auto where you have so many days to license or does it have to be licensed when you first use it? I have a Bill of Sale.

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Trapper is offline Super Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Arkansas
    Posts
    1,860
    I bought mine back in October (used) and didn't license it until early spring and they didn't say anything at the revenue office. Now I didn't use it during that time. I don't know what a cop would have to say about it if you got pulled over.

  3. #3
    popgun is offline Super Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Beebe
    Posts
    1,078
    When you go in, just don't say anything about a bill of sale. Just tell them it is a homemade trailer and that you built it yourself. Approximate the value at about $500. And get a permanent plate. That way you won't have to go back every year to renew. Be sure to add it to your tax assessment.
    ....popgun
  4. #4
    Mack9302 is offline Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Fort smith
    Posts
    505
    while both of these are great options the legal way is to go to revenue office with title in hand... register and get life time plates for 25 bucks

    as long as bill of sale is less that 2,499.99 there will be no sales tax....

    you have 30 days to tag...if you go over that you can sign an affidavit stated you did not use and pay no extra fees.

    state tropper gave me a ticket for not having my trailer tagged inside the thirty days...i went to court over it and argued it and they told me it did not matter...state tropper could still write the ticket so after me repeating law 4 times to them it was dismissed....
  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    North Arkansas
    Posts
    1,858
    OK, thanks.

    Actually my Grandma gave me this little trailer. It was my Grandpa's when he was alive and hasn't been used in several years. So no bill of sale, in fact I'm probably gonna use it to move some stuff in the next couple weeks and then take it back to my Grandma's house. Guess the legal way is to pay a lifetime plate fee and use it and then park it forever in a field again.

    Thanks Again.




 
Website Builder